A sense of belonging

When many years ago now, I asked my then minister which type of service he enjoyed most, I was expecting him to answer weddings. So it came as a big surprise when he told me he preferred funerals.

Having, since then, been involved in weddings, funerals and of course all forms of Sunday worship myself, I now understand his point of view. Indeed, for a minister weddings can be rather stressful, particularly when bride  and groom have planned the whole celebration before even having spoken with the person who is to marry them. And, if it turns out these plans are not compatible with the minister’s idea of a wedding service, the negotiations can be difficult for all involved.

 At funerals on the other hand, the minister is (at least until recently) expected to be in charge and lead the mourners while bringing consolation and hope. Which, of course is an honour treasured by most ministers.

However, my own “favourite service of worship” is, without any doubt, the service of baptism. And no Sunday is of course more appropriate for baptism than Easter Sunday.

But whether the baptism is part of the  Easter celebration or of an ordinary Sunday service, welcoming the baptismal candidate into God’s family has  always been for me a source of extreme joy. But there is more, because baptism is a visible sign of faith and hope; a sign which is not only meaningful for the person baptised but also for all present.  In a way you could say that it is an icon; a window to God, a way of better understanding who God is.

Now, to be honest I haven’t always seen things that way. In fact, when my own children were young, I remember being rather unhappy when friends of mine who were definitely not church goers invited me to their baby daughter’s “christening”. I couldn’t help but complain that all they wanted really, was just a reason to have a party. However it turned out it was more about some form of “security” they envisaged for their child. I am not sure what shocked me more. Today the only excuse I can find for my uncharitable response is a youthful enthusiasm which made me see things very much in black and white…

For surely not only had I been rather judgemental, I had forgotten that baptism is also a way to welcome a child and his/her parents into God’s family. I had forgotten that our main message as Christians is that God loves all, doubters included. What is more, I had ignored the power of the Holy Spirit.  

Of course, baptism should never be an empty ritual; teaching is important and I still hope that faith and commitment will become part of the baptismal candidate’s life, but I have come to trust the Holy Spirit to work in God’s own good time rather than mine. 

So, today, for me, the focus will always have to lie on sharing the message of God’s life and hope giving love in a way that people understand. And I think that the clearest way to express that love is to open my arms and welcome whoever comes to me whether on her/his own feet or in the arms of his/her parents and to say through the act and words of baptism: “welcome, you too are loved by God and belong to His family, the family of the Risen Christ”.

Alleluia! 

Blessings to you all

Joanne

Leave a comment